Year In Fandom meme

  • Your main fandom of the year?
    Fringe. Totally, completely, Fringe.
  • Your favourite film watched this year?
    Moon.
  • Your favourite book read this year?
    West with the Night by Beryl Markham. That would be my non-fiction book. Jasper Fforde mentioned it was on his recently read lists so I immediately got my hands on every book on that list. And was it worth it. What a beautifully written book by a women in the early part of the last century who made a name for herself in horse training and aviation history. She grew up in the African bush country and at the age of 17 her dad moved off the continent and left her in the middle of nowhere with a horse and that was pretty much it. She ended up being sucked into the society of eccentrics who flocked to Africa during the ’20s and ’30s and in all ways over matched whatever crap was put in her way be it from owners she trained horses for or avoiding detention in Mussolini’s Libya. Her life was interesting and her writing even more so. For my fiction pick it has got to be Shades of Grey by Jasper Fforde which squeaked in at January.
  • Your favourite album or song to listen to this year?
    This is difficult. I really enjoyed La Roux’s first album, and that was probably the most complete album I’ve liked all year, but I’ve loved all things Joan Jett all year too. Blackbird Blackbird gets best EP of the year from me. Best song goes to Crystal Castle’s Not in Love feat. Robert Smith.
  • Your favourite TV shows of the year?
    Fringe. Doctor Who (Moff S1). Downton Abbey. Caprica. Sherlock. Parenthood. The Walking Dead.
  • Your best new TV discovery of the year?
    The Wire. Detroit 1-8-7. Human Target. Rookie Blue. Lost Girl.  And by discovery I mean shows that weren’t destined to be a sure thing like Sherlock or Downton Abbey. Ones that kind of snuck up on me.
  • Your biggest fandom disappointment of the year?
    The cancellation of Caprica and SGU. I thought those two shows were Syfy’s statement shows. Shows that gave them legitimacy as a network. Nope. Syfy is lightweight now. Neither hot or cold I spit it out. USA does light much better than Syfy ever will. I don’t  have time for USA’s redheaded stepchild. Also, the cancellation of Better Off Ted. What is wrong with you, America?
  • Your TV boyfriend of the year?
    I had to think about this for a while. Probably Eleven or Booth from Bones if I try to forget his plotline for this year. I tend to get my boyfriends from books more than TV. Lord Peter Wimsey would be a good example this year.
  • Your TV girlfriend of the year?
    Olivia BAMF Dunham. Followed closely by River BAMF Song. Followed by BAMF in training Lauren from Lost Girl who doesn’t get enough screen time. Never enough!
  • Your biggest squee moment of the year?
    The events that lead up to Peter getting that weird phone call in bed on Fringe. I think I might have crowed rather than squeed though. I was so proud of Olivia and so ready for Peter to turn into action Peter.
  • The most missed of your old fandoms?
    LOST. I’m sorta holding onto Fringe with two hands because LOST is gone and a lot of my favorite shows have been canceled this year.
  • The TV you haven’t tried yet, but want to?
    Hm. I tend to give anything a try and do. Maybe Boardwalk Empire. I’ve not given that a watch yet.
  • Your biggest fan anticipations for the New Year?
    Upstairs DownstairsGame of Thrones.
Leave a Reply

