Conflicts of Honor

I’ve been meaning to read Sharon Lee and Steve Miller’s books for a while now. I had been slowly gathering them from used book stores and paperback swap and I was going to read them. Some day.

I am glad I finally did a couple days ago. I read this book in 22 hrs. I swear I wasn’t reading during the entirety of that. I think it was two sittings with work and a tiny bit of sleep in there too. Either way it was fast read. The only thing going against it was that it was part of a giant, 900 page paperback compilation and was impossible to hold. I ended up buying three ebooks at the Baen site about half way through it (which also solved my “how do I find these books? Arg!” problem I was having) and since then have started a third book.

I’m not going to go into great detail about the book except to say it was a pretty good modernization/scifi of Dorothy L Sayers’ Peter Wimsey series (intentional or not it is) complete with it’s own Harriet Vane. I think that’s what I liked about it.  The characters are in a similar situation.  An act of injustice happened to the main character, Priscilla, while she was just a teen and because of that she’s been fending for herself with various degrees of success for over ten years. She worked her way up in the shipping business, but it seems like it’s only a matter of time before she completely loses it what with the rough, cut throat crews she finds herself with. When that final shoe drops she is at her lowest of her lows, betrayed by her employers, and stranded on a backwash planet. In a bid to get revenge on her old crew she puts in with a rich, eccentric captain who seems to operate in a completely different (and better) universe than the one she’s been living in. He’s got a funny face for his race of normally attractive aliens and even among his own kind he is considered weird for like humans so much.

They have the Peter/Harriet thing going on complete with her wanting to stay in control and he wanting to help but liking her so much like she is he does not want to interfere with her affairs too much and risk taking from her the last few things she has control over. They are in the Gaudy Night stage of things in this book. So yeah, if you are a fan of this series check out Dorothy Sayers books with Harriet Vane in them. I started with Gaudy Night. If you like Dorothy Sayers and are looking for something similar in spirit, but with space ships and stuff, give this book a try.

Leave a Reply

