Fannish Friday Four


Fringe Friday!
Well, tomorrow it will be Fringe Friday! Woo! Fringe’s 3 day DVR ratings showed a big spike (42%) on top of already holding it’s numbers in the new time slot.

Fairly Legal was fairly mundane but for Sarah Shahi. She is in it a lot and I find that will probably be enough to get me through another quirky courtroom drama. And if Sarah Shahi doesn’t do it for you Anders from BSG is is in it too. The basic plot is that Sarah’s character is an ex-lawyer turned mediator with a young stepmom she doesn’t like, lawyer ex husband who is still around, and a father who recently died and left the law firm in upheaval. Sarah gets sucked into the law firm again and must deal with a zillion things in the first episode including the meaning of justice and blah blah blah. See how I can’t even remember her character’s name? Oh well. It was cute.

You know you have officially “arrived on the scene”, at least my scene, when I suddenly start casting you as characters in books I’m reading. Take for instance Eric Stolz retroactively becomes Bren Cameron in my head for all past and future Foreigner booksSo here comes Noomi Rapace being all awesome in the Millennium trilogy and suddenly she is go-to-girl number one in my head space character casting. I mean – dude – this girl is fierce! All the boys are in various states of “AHHHH” and she already looks like she hijacked a boat using only her brain and is planning on conquering a small island or something. And I’m not the only one who thinks she is awesome. Ridley Scott cast her as his leading lady in the Alien Prequel stand alone scifi/horror movie. (!!!)

This is interesting from a number of angles. The original topic which involves a discussion on gay characters in Game of Thrones as well as a fandom that leans male and has a number of … err … oblivions in their number. Ranging  from claiming not to have noticed stuff to being happy its there and will be featured even more in the tv show to the other side of it which is claiming that every unmarried man over 30 must be gay and every woman who wears armor must be as well despite POV scenes blatantly saying otherwise in some cases. Those would be the overcompensater. Male dominated fandom spaces are fascinating. (spoilers for most of the books I think)

I’ve been staying up too late writing and it seems like my favorite background noise is Charlie Rose. I find international politics soothing I guess. Anyway, last night he had a very thorough interview of Sir Anthony Hopkins (which is available streaming on his website) where they talk about a number of things including faith. I normally don’t like to hear about other people’s religious experiences (too touchy-feely or alien for me I think) but Hopkins is a very well read man, very much an over thinker, and I found his thoughts on the subject similar to the way I think of things. I obviously don’t have his life experiences, but his philosophy on life is similar to mine.

Leave a Reply

