30 day song challenge

day 01 – your favorite song
America, by Simon and Garfunkel

I was 15 or 16, probably my most impressionable period, and reading Franny and Zooey for the first time. I had Simon and Garfunkel playing while I read and at some point this song came on and it all just clicked in my head. Like I had finally become a person and prior to that my life had just been a series of events that happened to a child and after that moment everything I’d do would have context. It is still my favorite song. I never fail to be moved by it.

“Kathy, I’m lost,” I said, though I knew she was sleeping
I’m empty and aching and I don’t know why
Counting the cars on the New Jersey Turnpike
They’ve all gone to look for America

Leave a Reply

