Roasted Brussels Sprouts

I used to eat my brussels sprouts steamed and glazed with butter. Typically I got them frozen to start with. Out of habit since that was how mum did it. They seemed powerless in the frozen state. The fresh ones in the store were intimidating. Especially if they were still in a branch or whatever that is. I don’t know what the whole plant looks like and I am too afraid to look it up. This is from the girl who used to think cantaloupe grew on trees. *hides* Damn hubris catches me on the strangest topics.

Lately I have been replacing butter with olive oil more and more and recently had a friend sing the praises of fresh brussel sprouts to me. Normally I can’t find anyone who voluntarily eats the things so I’ve been isolated in the habit. Fresh, you say? Roasted even? Something that needs some of this quickly expiring, expensive bottle of olive oil I’m trying to justify blowing money on? That probably tipped me over the edge in the end.

Roasted Brussels Sprouts for 2
(measurements approximate because I am lazy and things usually work out for me)

  • about 20-25  sprouts
  • splash of olive oil
  • sea salt (not pictured because I couldn’t find it)
  • black pepper
  • lidded container big enough to shake your sprouts to
  • 400F preheated oven

Take the sprouts and cut the ends off to where you feel comfortable. I usually peal off one layer of leaf. I am not sure why but it seems morally prudent. You don’t know where it’s been. Transfer them to the container. Put a splash of olive oil in there. Lid it and shake to spread olive oil evenly. (Some people use ziplocks but I hate buying those things and wasting them on this type of thing.) Pour out onto tinfoil-ed sheet (thou I’ve got no trouble wasting foil it seems) and salt and pepper them to whatever degree you wish. Stick them in 400F oven for around 30 minutes. About half way through cooking give them a shake so they’ll turn and brown evenly.

Why do this to these poor things? Butter always used to work, right? Well, when you roast them they take on this nutty flavor I’ve never experienced with a steamed sprout. And even with steamed sprouts there was always a risk of a skunky one. This process (or perhaps using fresh sprouts…hm) has eliminated the skunky sprout. If you leave them in slightly too long the browned outer leaf might shift into the unpleasantly blackened state. If that is the case just peal as much as that off as you can. I ate it anyway and was ok. This second batch I made sure stayed clearly on the side of browned and had no experience with a weird initial taste.

Leave a Reply

