Christmas Tunes for the Year

I have come to find favorite Christmas songs are the ones composed during wartime. There is something sad in them that seems to reflect how I usually feel about now. And before you think I’m morbid or emo or something it is the uncertainty I like. They seem to get both the ideal we seek as well as the small, seeminly insignificant moments of good we shouldn’t pass by. We are poised between the two at our best moments.

My other favorite kind of Christmas music is Joan Jett singing Little Drummer Boy. It’s in its own category. Love my arrogant drummer boy. Ballsy winter of 1981 debut release. Unsigned? NBD.

Leave a Reply

