2011 Top Ten: The Comedy

As some of may know, I was diagnosed with an autoimmune disease (gluten triggered to be specific) and have been miserable sick for over half a year and various stages of that for the last five years and then some in fact. A weird side effect of this has been A.D.D. and the general inability to concentrate. Which might be why the half hour comedy got my butt in my seat easier than the dramas this season has. I’m going to have to go back and revisit all the dramas I just couldn’t sit through. But in the meanwhile…I actually really liked the comedy this season. And now that I’ve come out of my gluten haze…I still like it.

Community, Happy Endings, Parks and Rec, Suburgatory… and honorable mentions such Modern Family, 30 Rock, Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Raising Hope, Up All Night…it has been a productive year.

Prior to this I was only into British comedy. Like Black Books, It Crowd, and Spaced with the rare American pick-up like Better Off Ted or Futurama. Why the revolution? Notice how I don’t have old school laugh track crap on my list? I apparently like comedy, but only when it is filmed more like a drama. Bonus the fact they are pretty mundane in subject matter (none of these Fat Dude and Pretty Wife shows) with diverse casts for the most part and generally sweet humor or at least you can tell everyone generally cares for one another.

Leave a Reply

